Routing and Transit Number: 322280414


Our Mission

The mission of the Ontario Public Employee's Federal Credit Union is to provide the friendly and convenient financial services that best meet the needs of the members while maintaining the financial soundness and stability required to protect the members investment.

Our History

Ontario Public Employees Federal Credit Union was founded on May 18, 1959, by a group of Ontario city employees for their mutual financial benefit. At first they operated the credit union out of the trunk of the Treasurer’s car and later moved the fledgling financial institution into the manager’s garage. When the new Ontario City Hall was built in 1979, OPEFCU finally acquired a real office in the basement of City Hall, its home for the next 14 years. In November of 1993, the steadily growing credit union relocated to its present spacious office at the corner of “B” Street and Laurel in Ontario.

OPEFCU is a federally chartered, full-service financial institution owned entirely by its members. It is managed by the Board of Directors, Credit Committee and Supervisory Committee. Board and Credit Committee members are elected by the members, and Supervisory Committee members are appointed by the Board. As an OPEFCU member/owner, you may run or volunteer for office, if you choose. Except for the Credit Union’s paid staff, all positions are voluntary and unremunerated.

Philosophy and Structure

Credit unions are democratically owned and controlled institutions based on 'people helping people' principles. Credit union boards of directors are elected by members; each member has an equal vote, regardless of how much he or she has on deposit. Only members may serve as directors, and directors serve without compensation. Credit unions have no outside stockholders, so after reserves are set aside, earnings are returned to members in the form of higher dividends on savings, lower loan rates and lower cost services.

Regulation and Supervision

Ontario Public Employees Federal Credit Union was chartered under federal law. Federally chartered credit unions are regulated by the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA), an independent agency of the U.S. Government. NCUA's three board members are nominated by the President and confirmed by the Senate.